Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Domestic Substances List Inventory Update

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

The Domestic Substances List (DSL) was first compiled in the early 1990s to identify substances that were in commerce in Canada between 1984 and 1986. At the time of compilation, basic information such as substance quantities, uses and industry sectors involved were collected. The information available for many substances on the DSL may no longer represent current commercial activity in Canada. The Government of Canada recognizes the benefits of maintaining an up-to-date inventory of substances in commerce. Regular updates of domestic substances inventories are also done in other jurisdictions. Work to update information on substances on the DSL, undertaken under the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP), is addressed in Phases. Each update does not include all substances on the DSL. Instead, subsets of substances were surveyed, in Phase 1 and Phase 2, based on priorities identified through the CMP.

Each update does not include all substances on the DSL. Instead, subsets of substances are surveyed based on priorities identified through the CMP.

Phase 2

2012 Inventory Update Information Summary

The Next link will take you to another Web site Non-confidential summary of information received from the second phase of the Domestic Substances List Inventory Update is available.

Update: Substances for which no information was submitted under Phase 2 of the DSL Inventory Update

Analysis of mandatory and voluntary responses received from the Next link will take you to another Web site section 71 Notice published under Phase 2 of the DSL IU (December 2012) indicates that there are approximately 1325 substances for which no information was submitted, including 260 polymers and 65 substances currently on the DSL under masked names. Further updates from the analysis of survey results will be shared in the coming months.

The Notice applied to approximately 2700 substances, including 560 polymers and 90 masked substances.

The Next link will take you to another Web site list of substances for which no information was submitted under Phase 2 of the DSL IU is now available. These substances will be considered under the Rapid Screening and Polymer approaches.

Any person who did not meet the reporting requirements listed in Schedule 2 of the Notice but was, or is currently, involved with the substances in Phase 2 of the DSL IU or has relevant information on these substances is encouraged to contact us to provide the applicable information.

A response to the Notice is required from those who met the reporting requirements and did not respond. As the deadline for responding to the Notice was September 4, 2013, the response must be submitted as soon as possible to the Minister of the Environment to the attention of the Substances Management Coordinator.

2012 Section 71 Notice (Mandatory Survey)

This section 71 Notice sought to obtain updated information on the commercial status of substances that are remaining priorities, to support any subsequent risk assessment and risk management activities, if applicable. This initiative will inform Rapid Screening, the Polymer Approach, as well as priority setting for the next phase of the CMP.

In December 2012, a Notice was issued in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 146, No. 48 - December 1, 2012 under section 71 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). This Notice applied to approximately 2,700 Next link will take you to another Web site Substances in Phase 2 of the DSL IU.

Every person to whom this Notice applied was required to comply with the Notice no later than 5 p.m. EDT, September 4, 2013. Please see the Next link will take you to another Web site Guidance Document for completing the CEPA section 71 Notice.

In August 2013, an amendment was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 147, No. 31 - August 3, 2013 to remove the substance Ashes (residues), CAS RN 68131-74-8 from Part 2 of Schedule 1 of the Notice. It is not mandatory to report on this substance to comply with the Notice. However, information requested on this substance is still encouraged to be submitted on a voluntary basis.

Responses to the section 71 Notice, the Declaration of Stakeholder Interest and the Declaration of Non-Engagement can be submitted via Environment Canada's Single Window.

Guidance on how to submit your information via Environment Canada's Single Window, is available in the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) Online Reporting How-To Guide.

Phase 1

Some of these substances have been addressed using the Rapid Screening Approach.

2009 Inventory Update Information Summary - Chemicals

An Next link will take you to another Web site Update of Approximately 500 inanimate substances (chemicals) on the Domestic Substances List (Information Summary) is available.

2009 Section 71 Notice (Mandatory Survey) - Chemicals

In October 2009, a Notice was issued in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol.143, No.40 - October 3, 2009. The Notice collected data from those that manufactured or imported inanimate (chemical) substances, whether alone, in a mixture, in a product, or in a manufactured item during the 2008 calendar year. This Notice applied to approximately 500 inanimate substances (chemicals), complementing the information collected or generated as part of the DSL categorization process, in order to inform prioritization of these substances and subsequent risk assessment and risk management activities.

2009 Section 71 Notice (Mandatory Survey) - Micro-organisms

In October 2009, a Notice was issued in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol.143, No.40 - October 3, 2009. The Notice collected data from those that manufactured or imported animate substances, whether alone, in a mixture or in a product during the 2008 calendar year. This Notice applied to approximately 45 animate substances (micro-organisms), complementing information collected or generated as part of the DSL categorization process, in order to inform prioritization of the substances and subsequent risk assessment and risk management activities.

If you have questions or comments on Phase 1 or Phase 2 of the DSL IU, please contact us. Indicate on the envelope or subject line "DSL IU Inquiry".

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Mise à jour de l'Inventaire de la Liste Intérieure des Substances

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

La Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) a été dressée au début des années 1990 afin d'identifier les substances commercialisées au Canada entre 1984 et 1986. Au moment de la compilation, des renseignements de base tels que les quantités, les utilisations et les secteurs industriels ont été recueillis. Les renseignements de la LIS sont aujourd'hui désuets et pourraient ne plus représenter l'activité commerciale actuelle au Canada. Le Gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance de maintenir un inventaire à jour des substances en commerce. D'autres juridictions effectuent aussi des mises à jour régulières de leur propre inventaire de substances en commerce. Le travail pour mettre à jour la LIS, entrepris dans le cadre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques (PGPC), est séparé en phases. Chaque mise à jour n'inclut pas toutes les substances de la LIS. Un sous-ensemble de substances a plutôt fait l'objet d'une enquête, durant la Phase 1 et la Phase 2, fondée sur les priorités identifiées par le PGPC.

Phase 2

2012 Résumé de la mise à jour de l'inventaire

Le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Sommaire des renseignements non confidentiels reçus dans le cadre de la deuxième phase de la mise à jour de la Liste intérieure des substances est disponible.

Mise à jour : Substances pour lesquelles aucune information n'a été soumise dans le cadre de la Phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS

L'analyse des déclarations obligatoires et volontaires reçues en réponse à Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web l'avis en vertu de l'article 71 pour la Phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la Liste intérieure des substances (Décembre 2012) indique que l'on compte environ 1325 substances pour lesquelles aucune information n'a été soumise, incluant 260 polymères et 65 substances figurant actuellement sur la LIS sous un nom confidentiel. Des mises à jour concernant l'analyse des données recueillies en vertu de l'avis seront disponibles dans les prochains mois.

L'avis s'appliquait à environ 2700 substances, incluant 560 polymères et 90 substances confidentielles.

La Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web liste des substances pour lesquelles aucune information n'a été soumise dans le cadre de la phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS est maintenant disponible. Ces substances seront examinées en vertu de l'approche sur les polymères et de l'approche de l'examen préalable rapide.

Toute personne qui ne rencontre pas les exigences de déclaration listées à l'annexe 2 de l'avis mais qui est ou a été impliquée avec les substances de la Phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS, ou qui possède de l'information à leur sujet, est invitée à nous contacter pour nous faire part de l'information pertinente. 

Une réponse à l'avis est requise de ceux qui rencontrent les exigences de déclaration et n'ont pas répondu à l'avis. Puisque la date limite pour répondre à l'avis était le 4 septembre 2013, la réponse doit être envoyée dans les plus brefs délais, au Ministre de l'Environnement à l'attention du coordonnateur de la gestion des substances.

2012 Avis en vertu de l'article 71 (Avis Obligatoire)

L'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 avait pour objectif de fournir des informations à jour sur le statut commercial des substances prioritaires restantes, pour appuyer les activités subséquentes d'évaluation et de gestion des risques, si applicable. Cette initiative permettra de contribuer à la Méthode d'examen préalable rapide, à l'Approche à l'égard des polymères, ainsi qu'à l'établissement des priorités pour la prochaine phase du PGPC.

En décembre 2012, un avis a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 146, no 48 - 1er décembre 2012 en vertu de l'article 71 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 [LCPE (1999)]. Cet avis s'appliquait à approximativement 2,700 Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Substances de la Phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS.

Toute personne à qui l'avis s'appliquait devait se conformer à cet avis et y répondre au plus tard le 4 septembre 2013 à 17h00 HAE. Veuillez consulter le Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Document d'orientation pour répondre à l'avis émis en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE.

En août 2013, une modification a été publiée dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 147 no. 31, le 3 août 2013 retirant la substance Cendres (résidus), NE CAS 68131-74-8 de la partie 2 de l'annexe 1 de l'avis. Il n'est pas obligatoire de fournir des renseignements sur cette substance pour se conformer à l'avis. Cependant, la soumission des renseignements demandés sur une base volontaire est toujours encouragée.

La réponse à l'avis en vertu de l'article 71, la déclaration de non-implication et la déclaration des parties intéressées peuvent être soumises à partir du Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Guichet unique d'Environnement Canada. Des directives  pour soumettre votre information à partir du guichet unique d'Environnement Canada sont fournies dans le document Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Déclaration au Plan de Gestion des Produits Chimiques (PGPC)-Guide pratique en ligne.

Phase 1

Certaines de ces substances ont été traitées selon la méthode d'examen préalable rapide.

2009 Résumé de la mise à jour de l'inventaire - Substances chimiques

Une mise à jour Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web d'approximativement 500 substances inanimées (chimiques) de la Liste Intérieure des Substances (Résumé des données) est disponible.

2009 Avis en vertu de l'article 71 (Avis obligatoire) - Substances chimiques

En octobre 2009, un avis a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 143, no 40 - 3 Octobre, 2009. Cet avis a permis de recueillir les données de ceux ayant fabriqué ou importé des substances inanimées (chimiques), qu'elles soient seules, dans un mélange, dans un produit ou dans un article manufacturé, au cours de l'année civile 2008. Cet avis s'appliquait à approximativement 500 substances inanimées, ajoutant aux renseignements recueillis ou générés lors du processus de catégorisation de la LIS, afin de permettre l'établissement de priorités au sujet de ces substances et des activités subséquentes d'évaluation et de gestion des risques.

2009 Avis en vertu de l'article 71 (Avis obligatoire) - Micro-organismes

En octobre 2009, un avis a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 143, no 40 - 3 Octobre, 2009. Cet avis a permis de recueillir les données de ceux ayant fabriqué ou importé des substances animées, qu'elles soient seules, dans mélange, ou dans un produit, au cours de l'année civile 2008. L'avis s'appliquait à approximativement 45 substances animées (Micro-organismes) ajoutant aux renseignements recueillis ou générés lors du processus de catégorisation de la LIS, afin de permettre l'établissement de priorités au sujet de ces substances et des activités subséquentes d'évaluation et de gestion des risques.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires au sujet de la Phase 1 ou de la Phase 2 de la Mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS, veuillez communiquer avec nous. Indiquez dans l'objet «Demande de renseignements au sujet de la mise à jour de l'inventaire de la LIS».