Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Stream 4

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Stream 4 substances for the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach were identified during the initial triage as substances that may be present in products available to the consumer.  Refer to the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach Substances List.

Summary of Stream 4 Substances and Publications

Final Screening Assessment of Substances in Stream 4 of the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach
Group of Substances CAS RN Public Comments on the Draft Screening Assessment Final Screening Assessment Proposed Risk Management Approach
Stream 4 Heavy Fuel Oils 64741-57-7 None HTML None
64741-62-4
64741-67-9
64741-81-7
64742-59-2
64742-90-1
68955-27-1
Draft Screening Assessments of Substances in Stream 4 of the Petroleum Sector Stream Approach
Group of Substances CAS RN Risk Management Scope Draft Screening Assessment
Liquefied Petroleum Gases (Stream 4 Petroleum and Refinery Gases) 68476-85-7 HTML HTML
68476-86-8
Natural Gas Condensates (including the following CAS RNs) 64741-47-5 HTML HTML
64741-48-6
68919-39-1
Petrolatum and Waxes 8009-03-8 None HTML
64742-61-6
64743-01-7
Timelines
Date Substances Affected Activity
April 30, 2015 Stream 4 Heavy Fuel Oils Publication in Canada Gazette of final assessment decision under subsection 77(6).
March 7, 2015 Petrolatum and Waxes Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment and (b) the new information received.
October 11, 2014 Liquefied Petroleum Gases (Stream 4 Petroleum and Refinery Gases) Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment, (b) the new information received and (c) the risk management scope document.
October 11, 2014 Natural Gas Condensates Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment, (b) the new information received and (c) the risk management scope document.
September 6, 2014 Stream 4 Heavy Fuel Oils Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment and (b) the new information received.

Final Screening Assessment

Stream 4 Heavy Fuel Oils

In April 2016, the final screening assessment for seven substances was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 150, No. 18 - April 30, 2016 (PDF Version - 3,568 K).

The final screening assessment concluded that these seven substances do not meet any of the criteria set out in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), therefore the Ministers of the Environment and Climate Change and of Health proposed to take no further action on these substances at this time under the Act. No proposed risk management approach document was prepared.

Draft Screening Assessments and Risk Management Scopes

Liquefied Petroleum Gases (Stream 4 Petroleum and Refinery Gases)

In October 2014, the draft screening assessment for two substances was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette Part I: Vol. 148, No. 41 - October 11, 2014 (PDF Version - 1,015 K). A risk management scope document was also released in conjunction with this publication. There were 60-day public comment periods associated with these publications.

Natural Gas Condensates

In October 2014, the draft screening assessment for natural gas condensates was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette Part I: Vol. 148, No. 41 - October 11, 2014 (PDF Version - 1,015 K). A risk management scope document was also released in conjunction with this publication. There were 60-day public comment periods associated with these publications.

Petrolatum and Waxes

In March 2015, a draft screening assessment for three substances was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 149, No. 10 - March 7, 2015 (PDF Version - 606 K) for a 60-day public comment period.

Stream 4 Heavy Fuel Oils

In September 2014, a draft screening assessment for seven substances was released and the related Notice was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 148, No. 36 - September 6, 2014 (PDF Version - 826 K) for a 60-day public comment period.

If you have questions or comments, please contact us. Indicate on the envelope or subject line "CMP Petroleum Stream Inquiry".

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Groupe 4

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Les substances du groupe 4 de l'Approche pour le secteur pétrolier ont été définies au cours du triage initial comme étant les substances qui peuvent être présentes dans les produits mis à la disposition des consommateurs. Consulter la Liste des substances de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier.

Résumé des substances et des publications du groupe 4

Évaluations préalables finales de substances du groupe 4 de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier
Groupe de substances Nº CAS Commentaires du public sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable Évaluation préalable finale Approche de gestion des risques proposée
Mazouts lourds du groupe 4 64741-57-7 Aucun HTML Aucun
64741-62-4
64741-67-9
64741-81-7
64742-59-2
64742-90-1
68955-27-1
Ébauche d'évaluations préalables de substances du groupe 4 de l'approche pour le secteur pétrolier
Groupe de substances Nº CAS Cadre de gestion des risques Ébauche d'évaluation préalable
Gaz de pétrole liquéfiés (gaz de pétrole et de raffinerie du groupe 4) 68476-85-7 HTML HTML
68476-86-8
Gaz de condensats naturel (incluant les Numéro de registre CAS suivants) 64741-47-5 HTML HTML
64741-48-6
68919-39-1
Pétrolatum et cires 64741-47-5 Aucun HTML
64741-48-6
68919-39-1
Échéancier
Date Substances touchées Activité
Le 30 avril 2016 Mazouts lourds du groupe 4 Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'évaluation préalable finale en vertu du paragraphe 77(6).
Le 7 mars 2015 Pétrolatum et cires Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de 60 jours de commentaires publics sur (a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable, (b) les nouveaux renseignements reçus et (c) le document sur le cadre de gestion des risques.
Le 11 octobre 2014 Gaz de pétrole liquéfiés (gaz de pétrole et de raffinerie du groupe 4) Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de 60 jours de commentaires publics sur (a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable, (b) les nouveaux renseignements reçus et (c) le document sur le cadre de gestion des risques.
Le 11 octobre 2014 Gaz de condensats naturel Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de 60 jours de commentaires publics sur (a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable, (b) les nouveaux renseignements reçus et (c) le document sur le cadre de gestion des risques.
Le 6 septembre 2014 Mazouts lourds du groupe 4 Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de 60 jours de commentaires publics sur (a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable et (b) les nouveaux renseignements reçus.

Évaluation préalable finale

Mazouts lourds du groupe 4

En avril 2016, l'évaluation préalable finale pour sept substances a été diffusée et l'avis connexe a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 150, nº 18, le 30 avril 2016 (Version PDF - 3 568 ko).

L'évaluation préalable finale a permis de conclure que ces sept substances ne satisfont pas aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Par conséquent, les ministres de l'Environnement et Changement climatique et de la Santé proposent de ne rien faire pour le moment à l'égard de ces substances sous le régime de la Loi. Aucun document sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée n'a été préparé.

Ébauche d'évaluations préalables et cadres de gestion des risques

Gaz de pétrole liquéfiés (gaz de pétrole et de raffinerie du groupe 4)

En octobre 2014, l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable pour deux substances a été diffusée et l'avis connexe a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 148, nº 41 - le 11 octobre 2014 (Version PDF - 1 015 Ko). Un document sur le cadre de gestion des risques a été également diffusé en même temps que ces publications. Des périodes de commentaires publics de 60 jours accompagnaient la publication de ces documents.

Gaz de condensats naturel

En octobre 2014, l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable des gaz de condensats naturel et l'avis connexe ont été publiés dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 148, nº 41 - le 11 octobre 2014 (Version PDF - 1 015 Ko). Un document sur le cadre de gestion des risques a également été publié en conjonction avec cette publication. Des périodes de commentaires publics de 60 jours accompagnaient la publication de ces documents.

Mazouts lourds du groupe 4

En septembre 2014, l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable pour sept substances a été diffusée et l'avis connexe a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 148, nº 36 - le 6 septembre 2014 (Version PDF - 826 Ko) pour une période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.

Pétrolatum et cires

En mars 2015, une ébauche d'évaluation préalable pour trois substances a été diffusée et l'avis connexe a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 149, nº 10 - le 7 mars 2015 (Version PDF - 606 Ko) pour une période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.

Si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, veuillez communiquer avec nous. Indiquez sur l'enveloppe ou dans l'objet « Demande pour le secteur pétrolier du PGPC ».