Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The Substance Groupings Initiative

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

The Government of Canada plans to assess and manage, where appropriate, the potential health and ecological risks associated with nine groupings of substances. This initiative began with a Notice of intent for the Aromatic Azo- and Benzidine-based Substance Grouping, published on June 5, 2010. On October 8, 2011 an Announcement that applies to this grouping and eight additional groupings of substances was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol 145, No. 41 - October 8, 2011 (Next link will take you to another Web site PDF Version - 3,812 K).

The initiative includes the following substance groupings:

Stakeholders are invited to indicate their interest in being engaged in discussions on one or more of these substance groupings by completing a Next link will take you to another Web site Stakeholder Identification Form. If you have other questions or comments, please contact us. Indicate on the envelope or subject line "Substance Groupings Initiative Inquiry".

These substance groupings have been selected for further action based on the categorization exercise completed in 2006 and new information received as part of the first phase of the Chemicals Management Plan. The groupings were identified based on structural or functional similarities and were assembled based on considerations related to assessment efficiencies, management efficiencies, the ability to support informed substitution decisions, timing of international actions and stakeholder engagement. View the Next link will take you to another Web site List of substances included in the Substance Groupings Initiative.


Timelines associated with each substance grouping are available on each grouping's respective web page.

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Initiative des groupes de substances

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Le gouvernement du Canada prévoit évaluer et gérer, au besoin, les risques possibles pour la santé et l'environnement associés à neuf groupes de substances. Cette initiative a été amorcée par un avis d'intention concernant le Groupe de substances azoïques aromatiques et à base de benzidine, publié le 5 juin 2010. Le 8 octobre 2011, une annonce s'appliquant à ce groupe et à huit autres groupes de substances a été publiée dans la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, vol. 145, n° 41, le 8 octobre 2011 (Le lien suivant vous amènera à un autre site Web Version PDF - 3 812 ko).

L'initiative comprend les groupes de substances suivants :

Les intervenants sont invités à faire connaître leur intérêt à participer aux discussions sur un ou plusieurs de ces groupes de substances en remplissant un Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web formulaire d'identification des intervenants. Si vous avez d'autres questions ou commentaires, veuillez communiquer avec nous. Indiquez sur l'enveloppe ou dans l'objet « Demande de renseignements concernant l'initiative des groupes de substances ».

Ces groupes de substances ont été sélectionnés pour faire l'objet d'une prise en charge supplémentaire en se fondant sur l'exercice de catégorisation achevé en 2006 et en tenant compte des nouveaux renseignements reçus dans le cadre de la première phase du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques. Les groupes ont été déterminés à partir des similarités structurelles et fonctionnelles et ont été formés à partir de la prise en compte de l'efficience de l'évaluation et de la gestion, de la capacité à appuyer des décisions de remplacement éclairées, du calendrier des mesures internationales et de la participation des intervenants. Voir la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Liste des substances inclus dans l'Initiative des groupes de substances.

Délais

Les délais associés à chaque groupes de substances sont disponibles sur leurs pages web respectifs.