Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Chemical Substances in Batch 2 of the Challenge

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Risk Management Action Milestones

The Risk Management Action Milestones table outlines the risk management actions that were proposed for each chemical substance in this batch of the Challenge that met the criteria of section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. These proposed risk management actions were published in the risk management approach documents for these substances. For the complete wording of these proposed actions, please refer to the risk management approach documents.

Adding Substances to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act

Nine substances in this batch were initially proposed to be added to Schedule 1. Following the publication of the proposed addition to Schedule 1, a Board of Review was established for one of these substances, D5, to examine the nature and extent of the danger posed by this substance. Following, the receipt of the Board's report, recommendation and the review of all available information, the former recommendation to add D5 to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 is annulled. Therefore, in this batch, the final Orders to add eight substances to Schedule 1 have been published.

Applying Significant New Activity (SNAc) Provisions

View the Next link will take you to another Web site Comprehensive Listing of Substances that are Subject to a Significant New Activity Notice.

Seven substances in this batch have been addressed through the application of Significant New Activity (SNAc) provisions. Two Orders have been published. For additional guidance on submitting information required as part of SNAc notifications, please see the Next link will take you to another Web site Guidelines for the Notification and Testing of New Substances: Chemicals and Polymers.

Summary of Batch 2 Substances and Publications

Substances that meet one or more criteria in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999
CAS RN Chemical Substance Final Order and RIAS Public Comments on the Proposed Risk Management Approach Final Screening Assessment Proposed Risk Management Approach Public Comments on the Draft Screening Assessment and Risk Management Scope

Table 1 footnotes

Table 1 footnote 1

The Risk Management Approach for D4 reflects past decisions on a substance (D5) that are no longer applicable. This document is available upon request.

Return to table 1 footnote 1 referrer

62-56-6 Thiourea
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
None
78-79-5 Isoprene
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
80-05-7 Bisphenol A
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
106-89-8 Epichlorohydrin
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
556-67-2 Siloxane D4
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
732-26-3 2,4,6-tri-tert-butylphenol
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
1344-37-2 C.I. Pigment Yellow 34
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
12656-85-8 C.I. Pigment Red 104
Next link will take you to another Web site PDF
Substances that do not meet any of the criteria in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999
CAS RN Chemical Substance Final Screening Assessment Public Comments

Table 2 footnotes

Table 2 footnote 1

These documents reflect past decisions on the substance that are no longer applicable. These documents have been left available for information purposes only.

Return to table 2 footnote 1 referrer

108-05-4 Vinyl Acetate
541-02-6 Siloxane D5
540-97-6 Siloxane D6
2778-42-9 Tetramethyl-m-xylylene diisocyanate None
4474-24-2 Acid Blue 80 None
15086-94-9 D&C Red No. 21
70161-19-2 Acid Green 40:1 None
83006-67-1 ADIBSS None
125351-99-7 AMS None

Siloxane D5

In February 2012, following the consideration of Siloxane D5 Board of Review recommendations and of all available information, a revised final decision for Siloxane D5 was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 146, No. 8 - February 25, 2012 (Next link will take you to another Web site PDF Version - 1,914 K). The Government of Canada concluded that D5 is not entering the environment in a quantity or under conditions that constitute a danger to the environment. The former recommendation to add D5 to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 is therefore annulled. The following outlines the timelines in making the revised final decision:

  • In January 2009, a Notice relating to the release of the Next link will take you to another Web site Final Screening Assessment Report for D5 was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 143 No. 5 - January 31, 2009 (PDF Version – 1,058 K). The assessment concluded, based on the information available at that time, that the substance is entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity, thus meets one or more of the criteria set out in section 64 of the Act;
  • In May 2009, a proposed Order adding D5 and eight Batch 2 substances to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol 143, No. 20 - May 16, 2009 (PDF Version – 890 K).
  • In July 2009, a Next link will take you to another Web site Notice of Objection requesting the establishment of a board of review for D5 was filed by the Silicones Environmental, Health and Safety Council of North America.
  • In January 2010, a significant amount of new scientific information on D5 became available from industry studies submitted to Environment Canada. In addition, new information became available on D5 from the published literature and from scientific studies conducted at Environment Canada and in other jurisdictions.
  • In August 2010, the Minister of the Environment established a Board of Review for D5 to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by D5 was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol 144, No. 34 - August 21, 2010 (Next link will take you to another Web site PDF Version – 782 K).
  • In October 2011, the Next link will take you to another Web site Report of the Board of Review for Siloxane D5 was completed. The report considered all the available scientific information and concluded that D5 does not pose a danger to the environment.
  • In February 2012, after consideration of all available information including the Board's report and recommendations, the Government of Canada has published a revised decision on D5.
Timelines
Date Substances Affected Activity
July 18, 2012 CAS Nos. 62-56-6, 106-89-8, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 and 12656-85-8

Publication in Canada Gazette of Order amending the DSL to apply the Significant New Activity provisions of CEPA 1999.

February 25, 2012 CAS Nos. 541-02-6

Publication in Canada Gazette of Notice of Annulment of the proposed Order adding D5 to Schedule 1 and of the final assessment decision under subsection 77(6).

February 16, 2011 CAS Nos. 62-56-6, 78-79-5, 106-89-8, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 and 12656-85-8

Publication in Canada Gazette of Final Order Adding seven substances to Schedule 1.

January 22, 2011 CAS Nos. 62-56-6, 106-89-8, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 and 12656-85-8

Publication in Canada Gazette of Notice of intent to amend the DSL to apply the Significant New Activity provisions of CEPA 1999, and start of 60-day public comment period.

October 13, 2010 CAS No. 80-05-7

Publication in Canada Gazette of Final Order Adding bisphenol A to Schedule 1.

August 21, 2010 CAS No. 541-02-6

Publication in Canada Gazette of Notice to establish a Board of Review for D5.

May 27, 2009 CAS Nos. 70161-19-2 and 83006-67-1

Publication in Canada Gazette of Order amending the DSL to apply the Significant New Activity provisions of CEPA 1999.

May 16, 2009 CAS Nos. 62-56-6 , 78-79-5, 80-05-7, 106-89-8, 541-02-6, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 and 12656-85-8

Publication in Canada Gazette of proposed Order adding substances to Schedule 1, and start of 60-day public comment period.

January 31, 2009 The remaining 16 substances in Batch 2

Publication in Canada Gazette of final assessment decision under subsection 77(6), release of proposed risk management approach document, and start of 60-day public comment period on the proposed risk management approach document.

October 18, 2008 CAS No. 80-05-7

Publication in Canada Gazette of final assessment decision under subsection 77(6), release of proposed risk management approach document, and start of 60-day public comment period on the proposed risk management approach document.

May 24, 2008 CAS Nos. 70161-19-2 and 83006-67-1

Publication in Canada Gazette of Notice of intent to amend the DSL to apply the Significant New Activity provisions of CEPA 1999, and start of 60-day public comment period.

May 24, 2008 CAS Nos. 2778-42-9, 15086-94-9, 70161-19-2, 83006-67-1 and 125351-99-7

Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment and (b) the proposal to pursue one of the measures as specified under subsection 77(2).

May 17, 2008 CAS Nos. 540-97-6, 541-02-6, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 4474-24-2, 62-56-6, 78-79-5, 106-89-8, 108-05-4, 1344-37-2 and 12656-85-8

Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment, (b) the proposal to pursue one of the measures as specified under subsection 77(2) and (c) the risk management scope documents.

April 19, 2008 CAS No. 80-05-7

Publication in Canada Gazette and start of 60-day public comment period on (a) the draft screening assessment, (b) the proposal to pursue one of the measures as specified under subsection 77(2) and (c) the risk management scope documents.

November 13, 2007 All Batch 2 substances

Deadline for submission of additional information by interested stakeholders, including on the extent and nature of the management/stewardship of Batch 2 substances.

September 12, 2007 All Batch 2 substances

Deadline for submission of information under the section 71 Notice on Batch 2 substances (if no extension granted).

May 12, 2007 All Batch 2 substances

Release of Batch 2 of the Challenge and the accompanying technical documents.

Final Screening Assessments and Risk Management Approaches

In October 2008, the final screening assessment report for one substance (bisphenol A) in this batch was released. A Notice relating to this release was published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 142, No. 42 - October 18, 2008 (PDF Version - 505 K).

In January 2009, the final screening assessments reports for the remaining 16 substances in this batch were released. Notices relating to this release were published in the Next link will take you to another Web site Canada Gazette, Part I: Vol. 143, No. 5 - January 31, 2009 (PDF Version - 1,058 K).

The final screening assessments concluded that nine substances in this batch meet one or more criteria in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). The Government proposed to add these substances to Schedule 1 of the Act. Proposed risk management approach documents were also released on these dates for the substances in this batch which met the criteria in section 64 of CEPA 1999. In February 2012, following the consideration of Siloxane D5 Board of Review recommendations and all available information, a revised final decision for Siloxane D5 was released. The former recommendation to add D5 to Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 is annulled.

Comments, and the Government's response, relating to general themes are summarized in the Next link will take you to another Web site Summary of Overarching Public Comments Received on the Proposed Risk Management Approach Documents for Batch 2.

Draft Screening Assessment Reports and Risk Management Scopes

New information was received from industry or interested stakeholders for each of the 17 substances in this batch. In April and May of 2008, the draft screening assessment reports were released and the related Notices were published in the Canada Gazette. Risk management scope documents were also released in conjunction with these publications:

Comments and the Government's response relating to general themes on the draft screening assessment reports and risk management scope documents are summarized in the Next link will take you to another Web site Summary of Overarching Public Comments Received on the Batch 2 Substances.

Launch of Batch 2 and Submissions Received

Information on substances in this batch was gathered from industry and interested stakeholders through a mandatory survey Notice issued under section 71 of CEPA 1999. They were also invited to complete a voluntary questionnaire.

Two Notices related to the launch of Batch 2 were published in May 2007 in the Canada Gazette. The section 71 Notice applied to 15 of the 17 substances in this batch. The remaining two substances (CAS Nos. 732-26-3 and 15086-94-9) had been surveyed under a previous section 71 Notice, and the Government had obtained sufficient information that they were not included in the May 2007 Notice.

Number of Submissions Received for this Batch
Approximate Number Type of Information Submitted
169

Responses to mandatory section 71 Notice (responses were received relating to 14 substances in the batch)

73

Requests for extension of the deadline for section 71 Notice responses granted

54

Voluntary submissions of Questionnaires (Questionnaires were received relating to 10 substances in the batch)

125

Expressions of "Stakeholder Interest" (responses were received relating to 17 substances in the batch)

168

Other submissions (for example, studies, additional information)
(submissions were received relating to 14 substances in the batch)

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Substances chimiques du deuxième lot du Défi

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Statut des mesures de gestion des risques

Le tableau sur le statut des mesures de gestion des risques résume les mesures de gestion des risques qui ont été proposées pour chaque substance chimique de ce lot du Défi qui répond aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999). Ces mesures proposées de gestion des risques ont été publiées dans les documents sur l'approche de gestion des risques pour ces substances. Pour voir le texte complet des mesures proposées, prière de consulter les documents sur l'approche de gestion des risques.

Inscription de substances à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement

On a proposé initialement que neuf substances dans ce lot soient inscrites à l'annexe 1. Suite à la publication de l'inscription proposée à l'annexe 1, une commission de révision a été établie pour l'une de ces substances, D5, afin d'examiner la nature et l'ampleur du danger que représente cette substance. Après la réception du rapport de la commission, de la recommandation et de l'examen de toutes les informations disponibles, la première recommandation d'inscription de D5 à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) est annulée. Par conséquent, dans ce lot, les décrets finaux visant à ajouter huit substances à l'annexe 1 ont été publié.

Application des dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité (NAc)

Voir la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Liste complète des substances qui sont visé par une nouvelle activité.

Sept substances de ce lot sont visées par l'application des dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité (NAc). Deux décret ont été publiés. Pour des conseils supplémentaires sur la soumission d'information éxigé dans le cadre des déclarations de nouvelle activité, veuillez voir les Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Directives pour la déclaration et les essais de substances nouvelles : substances chimiques et polymères.

Résumé des substances et des publications du deuxième lot

Substances qui répondent à un ou à plusieurs critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)
Nº CAS Substance chimique Décret final et REIR Commentaires publics sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée Évaluation préalable finale Approche de gestion des risques proposée Commentaires publics sur l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable et le cadre de gestion des risques

Tableau 1 - Note de bas de page

Tableau 1 - Note de bas de page 1

L'approche de gestion des risques proposée pour le D4 reflète les décisions passées sur une substance (D5) qui ne sont plus applicables. Ce document est disponible sur demande.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

62-56-6 Thiourée
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
Aucun
78-79-5 Isoprène
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
80-05-7 Bisphénol A
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
106-89-8 Épichlorhydrine
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
556-67-2 Siloxane D4
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
732-26-3 2,4,6-tri-tert-butylphénol
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
1344-37-2 C.I. Pigment Yellow 34
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
12656-85-8 C.I. Pigment Red 104
Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web PDF
Substances qui ne répondent à aucun des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)
Nº CAS Substance chimique Évaluation préalable finale Commentaires obtenus dans le cadre de la consultation publique

Tableau 2 - Note de bas de page

Tableau 2 - Note de bas de page 1

Les rapports reflètent les décisions passées sur la substance qui ne sont plus applicables. Les documents ont été laissé disponible à des fins d'information seulement.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

108-05-4 Acétate de vinyle
541-02-6 Siloxane D5
540-97-6 Siloxane D6
2778-42-9 Diisocyanate de tétraméthyl-m-xylylène Aucun
4474-24-2 Acid Blue 80 Aucun
15086-94-9 D&C rouge nº 21
70161-19-2 Acid Green 40:1 Aucun
83006-67-1 ADIBSS Aucun
125351-99-7 AMS Aucun

Siloxane D5

En février 2012, après avoir pris en considération les recommandations et toutes les informations disponibles de la Commission de révision pour le siloxane D5, une décision finale révisée pour le siloxane D5 a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 146, nº 8 - 25 février 2012 (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Version PDF - 1 914 Ko).  Le gouvernement a conclu que le D5 ne pénètre pas dans l'environnement en quantité suffisante ou dans des conditions qui peuvent être nocives pour l'environnement.  La première recommandation d'ajouter D5 à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] est donc annulée. Ce qui suit décrit les échéanciers dans la décision finale révisée :

  • En janvier 2009, un avis relatif à la diffusion du  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Rapport final d'évaluation préalable pour D5 a été publié dans la  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 143 n° 5 - 31 janvier 2009. L'évaluation a conclu, sur la base des informations disponibles à ce moment, que la substance pénètre dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou la diversité biologique, par conséquent répond ainsi à un ou plusieurs des critères prévus à l'article 64 de la Loi;
  • En mai 2009, un décret proposé d'inscription de D5 et huit substances du deuxième lot à la Liste des substances toxique dans l'annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999) a été publié dans la  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 143, nº 20 - 16 mai 2009.
  • En juillet 2009, un  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Avis d'opposition demandant la création d'une commission de révision pour le D5 a été déposée par Silicones Environmental, Health and Safety Council of North America.
  • En janvier 2010, une quantité importante de nouvelles informations scientifiques sur D5 est devenu disponible à partir d'études de l'industrie soumise à Environnement Canada. De plus, de nouvelles informations sont devenues disponibles sur D5 de la documentation publiée et d'études scientifiques menées à Environnement Canada et dans d'autres administrations.
  • En août 2010, le ministre de l'Environnement a constitué une commission de révision pour le D5 pour enquêter sur la nature et l'ampleur du danger que représente le D5 a été publié dans la  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I : vol. 144, nº 34 - 21 août 2010.
  • En octobre 2011, le  Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Rapport de la commission de révision pour le siloxane D5 a été complété. Le rapport a considéré l'ensemble des informations scientifiques disponibles et a conclu que le D5 est sans danger pour l'environnement.
  • En février 2012, après avoir examiné toutes les informations disponibles, ainsi que le rapport et les recommandations de la Commission, le gouvernement du Canada a publié sa décision révisée sur le D5.
Échéancier
Date Substances touchées Activité
Le 18 juillet 2012 Nº CAS 62-56-6, 106-89-8, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 et 12656-85-8

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret modifiant la LIS afin d'appliquer les dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité de la LCPE (1999).

Le 25 février 2012 Nº CAS 541-02-6

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'avis d'annulation du décret proposé à inscrire D5 à l'annexe 1 et la décision d'évaluation finale conformément au paragraphe 77(6).

Le 16 février 2011 Nº CAS 62-56-6, 78-79-5, 106-89-8, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 et 12656-85-8

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret final visant à inscrire sept substances à l'annexe 1.

Le 22 janvier 2011 Nº CAS 62-56-6, 106-89-8, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 et 12656-85-8

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'avis d'intention de modifier la LIS afin d'appliquer les dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité de la LCPE (1999) et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.

Le 13 octobre 2010 Nº CAS 80-05-7

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret final visant à inscrire le bisphénol A à l'annexe 1.

Le 21 août 2010 Nº CAS 541-02-6

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'avis pour établir une commission de révision pour le D5.

Le 27 mai 2009 Nº CAS 70161-19-2 et 83006-67-1

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret modifiant la LIS afin d'appliquer les dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité de la LCPE (1999).

Le 16 mai 2009 Nº CAS 62-56-6 , 78-79-5, 80-05-7, 106-89-8, 541-02-6, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 1344-37-2 et 12656-85-8

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada du décret proposé visant à inscrire certaines substances à l'annexe 1 et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.

Le 31 janvier 2009 Les 16 substances restantes du deuxième lot

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de la décision d'évaluation finale conformément au paragraphe 77(6), diffusion des documents sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours sur le document relatif à l'approche de gestion des risques proposée.

Le 18 octobre 2008 Nº CAS 80-05-7

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de la décision d'évaluation finale conformément au paragraphe 77(6), diffusion du document sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours sur le document relatif à l'approche de gestion des risques proposée.

Le 24 mai 2008 Nº CAS 70161-19-2 et 83006-67-1

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada de l'avis d'intention de modifier la LIS afin d'appliquer les dispositions relatives à une nouvelle activité de la LCPE (1999) et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours.

Le 24 mai 2008 Nº CAS 2778-42-9, 15086-94-9, 70161-19-2, 83006-67-1 et 125351-99-7

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours portant sur a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable et b) la proposition d'appliquer l'une des mesures énoncées dans le paragraphe 77(2).

Le 17 mai 2008 Nº CAS 540-97-6, 541-02-6, 556-67-2, 732-26-3, 4474-24-2, 62-56-6, 78-79-5, 106-89-8, 108-05-4, 1344-37-2 et 12656-85-8

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours sur a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable, b) la proposition d'appliquer l'une des mesures énoncées dans le paragraphe 77(2) et c) les documents sur les cadres de gestion des risques.

Le 19 avril 2008 Nº CAS 80-05-7

Publication dans la Gazette du Canada et début de la période de commentaires publics de 60 jours sur a) l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable, b) la proposition d'appliquer l'une des mesures dans le paragraphe 77(2) et c) les documents sur les cadres de gestion des risques.

Le 13 novembre 2007 Toutes les substances du deuxième lot

Date limite de présentation de renseignements supplémentaires par les intervenants intéressés, y compris sur la portée et la nature de la gestion et de l'intendance des substances du deuxième lot.

Le 12 septembre 2007 Toutes les substances du deuxième lot

Date limite de présentation de renseignements pour les avis en vertu de l'article 71 concernant les substances du deuxième lot (si aucune prolongation n'est accordée).

Le 12 mai 2007 Toutes les substances du deuxième lot

Publication du deuxième lot du Défi et des documents techniques complémentaires.

Évaluations préalables finales et approches de gestion des risques

En octobre 2008, le rapport final d'évaluation préalable pour une substance (le bisphénol A) de ce lot a été diffusé. Un avis relatif à cette diffusion a été publié dans la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 142, nº 42, le 18 octobre 2008 (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Version PDF - 504 ko).

En janvier 2009, les rapports finaux d'évaluation préalable pour les 16 substances restantes de ce lot ont été diffusés. Des avis relatifs à cette diffusion ont été publiés dans la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 143, nº 5, le 31 janvier 2009 (Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Version PDF - 1057 ko).

Les évaluations préalables finales ont permis de conclure que neuf substances de ce lot répondent à un ou à plusieurs critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Le gouvernement a proposé d'inscrire ces substances à l'annexe 1 de la Loi. Les documents sur l'approche de gestion des risques proposée ont également été diffusés à ces dates pour les substances de ce lot qui répondent aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999). En février 2012, après avoir pris en considération les recommandations et toutes les informations disponibles de la Commission de révision pour le siloxane D5, une décision révisée finale du Siloxane D5 a été diffusée. La première recommandation d'ajouter D5 à l'annexe de la LCPE (1999) est annulée.

Les commentaires ainsi que les réponses du gouvernement se rapportant aux thèmes généraux sont contenus dans le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Résumé des commentaires reçus du public concernant les approches de gestion des risques proposées relativement aux substances du deuxième lot.

Ébauches de rapport d'évaluation préalable et cadres de gestion des risques

Les représentants de l'industrie ou les intervenants intéressés ont présenté des renseignements nouveaux sur chacune des 17 substances de ce lot. En avril et en mai 2008, les ébauches de rapport d'évaluation préalable ont été diffusées et les avis connexes ont été publiés dans la Gazette du Canada. Les documents sur le cadre de gestion des risques ont également été diffusés en même temps que ces publications :

Les commentaires ainsi que les réponses du gouvernement se rapportant aux thèmes généraux des ébauches de rapport d'évaluation préalable et des documents sur les cadres de gestion des risques sont contenus dans le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Résumé des commentaires de portée générale reçus du public à l'égard des substances du deuxième lot.

Lancement du deuxième lot et présentations reçues

Des renseignements sur les substances de ce lot ont été recueillis auprès de représentants de l'industrie et d'intervenants intéressés par l'intermédiaire de l'émission d'un avis obligatoire en vertu de l'article 71 de la LCPE (1999). Ils ont également été invités à remplir un questionnaire facultatif.

Deux avis relatifs au lancement du deuxième lot ont été publiés en mai 2007 dans la Gazette du Canada. L'avis en vertu de l'article 71 visait 15 substances parmi les 17 substances de ce lot. Les deux substances restantes (portant les numéros CAS 732 26-3 et 15086-94-9) avaient été évaluées consécutivement à un avis précédent en vertu de l'article 71, et le gouvernement avait recueilli suffisamment de renseignements à leur sujet pour qu'il ne soit pas nécessaire de les inclure dans l'avis de mai 2007.

Nombre de présentations reçues pour ce lot
Nombre approximatif Type de renseignements présentés
169 Réponses à l'avis obligatoire en vertu de l'article 71 (des réponses ont été reçues pour 14 substances du lot)
73 Demandes de prolongation du délai pour les réponses à l'avis donné en vertu de l'article 71
54 Présentations volontaires de questionnaires remplis (des questionnaires ont été reçus concernant 10 substances du lot)
125 Manifestations « d'intérêt de l'intervenant » (des réponses ont été reçues concernant 17 substances du lot)
168 Autres présentations (par exemple, études, renseignements supplémentaires)
(des présentations ont été reçues concernant 14 substances du lot)