Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Release of Final Second Priority Substances List Assessment Report on Three Aluminum Salts

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word and PowerPoint (PPT) files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Release of Final Second Priority Substances List Assessment Report

On January 23, 2010, the results of the final Second Priority Substances List (PSL2) assessment report on three aluminum salts (aluminum chloride, aluminum nitrate and aluminum sulphate) were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I.

A summary of the final assessment report on aluminum salts is available at:

The final report concludes that the three aluminum salts do not meet any of the criteria set out in section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), and the Ministers of the Environment and of Health propose to take no further action on the three aluminum salts at this time under section 77 of the Act.

The full text of the final report is available at:

You may also obtain copies of the final assessment report on three aluminum salts by contacting existing.substances.existantes@ec.gc.ca.

Further information on the Government of Canada's activities on aluminum can be found at the following links:

Background

Aluminum salts were added on the Priority Substances List in 1995 on the recommendation of an expert advisory panel (drawn from major stakeholder groups) to identify substances that warranted priority attention for risk assessment.

Because of the limitations of the available data on human health effects of three aluminum salts, it was determined that additional information was required to complete the assessment. Therefore, a Notice of Suspension pursuant to subsection 78(2) of the Act was published on December 2, 2000, in order to allow for the development of further toxicological information required for the assessment.

A draft PSL2 report on three aluminum salts was released on February 7, 2009, and a notice was published indicating the government's proposed measures for these substances. Following the release of this information, there was a 60-day public comment period, from February 7, 2009 to April 8, 2009. During the public comment period, stakeholders could file written comments on the recommendations the Ministers proposed to take, and their scientific basis. The public comments received from stakeholders have been considered and addressed within the final PSL report, and responses to the comments received are provided at the following link:

Santé Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Publication du rapport d'évaluation final de trois sels d'aluminium inscrits sur la deuxième Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats de rechange, tels que Portable Document Format (PDF), Microsoft Word et PowerPoint (PPT), visitez la section d'aide sur les formats de rechange.

Publication du rapport final de l'évaluation de substances inscrites sur la deuxième Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire

Le 23 janvier 2010, les résultats du rapport d'évaluation final de trois sels d'aluminium (chlorure d'aluminium, nitrate d'aluminium et sulfate d'aluminium) inscrits sur la deuxième Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP2) ont été publiés dans la Partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada.

Un résumé du rapport d'évaluation final des trois sels d'aluminium peut être consulté à :

Le rapport final conclut que les trois sels d'aluminium ne satisfont à aucun des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] et que les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé proposent pour l'instant de ne prendre aucune autre mesure à l'égard de ces trois sels d'aluminium en vertu de l'article 77 de la Loi.

Le texte intégral du rapport d'évaluation final peut être consulté à :

Vous pouvez également obtenir un exemplaire du rapport d'évaluation final des trois sels d'aluminium en écrivant à existing.substances.existantes@ec.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les activités du gouvernement du Canada portant sur l'aluminium, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Contexte

Les sels d'aluminium ont été inscrits sur la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire en 1995 sur la recommandation d'une groupe consultative d'experts (formée de représentants des principales parties intéressées) qui a été chargée de déterminer les substances devant faire l'objet d'une évaluation prioritaire des risques.

Une ébauche du rapport de l'évaluation des trois sels d'aluminium a été publiée en le 7 février 2009, et un avis a été publié indiquant que le gouvernement a proposé des mesures concernant ces substances. La publication de ces renseignements a été suivie d'une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours, du 7 février 2009 au 8 avril 2009. Cette période a permis aux intervenants de présenter des commentaires écrits sur les recommandations que se proposaient de faire les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé ainsi que sur les fondements scientifiques des recommandations. Les commentaires reçus des intervenants du public ont été examinés et pris en compte dans le rapport final des substances de la LSIP2, et les réponses aux commentaires reçus sont disponibles au lien suivant :